Troubleshooting: Using Mylio with iCloud Photo Library

When using iCloud Photo Library in concert with Mylio’s Camera Roll import, it is important to set up your devices with the following settings:

  • iCloud Photo library must be set to Download and Keep Originals from within the iOS Settings app. To change this setting:
    1. Open the iOS Settings app
    2. Select your name at the very top
    3. Select iCloud
    4. Select Photos
    5. Select Download and Keep Originals.
    6. If Optimize iPhone storage is on, Mylio will not be able to import without errors
    7. Changing this setting will initiate a download of your images from iCloud and can take time. If you are having issues downloading your images to your mobile device from iCloud please contact Apple Support.

  •  Camera Roll import in Mylio should only be turned on for one of the devices sharing your iCloud Photo Library. Importing more than one Camera Roll will result in duplicate images. To change Mylio’s access to an iOS device’s camera roll:
    1.  Open the iOS  Settings app
    2. Select Privacy
    3. Select Photos
    4. Select Mylio
    5. Allowing Read/Write privileges will turn on Mylio’s Camera Roll import feature.
    6. Choosing Never will stop future Camera Roll photos from importing to Mylio but will not remove any existing media from Mylio’s library.

Mylio has a unique relationship with your device’s Camera Roll in order to ensure your photos are safe inside and outside of your Mylio Library. Here are the guidelines for how Mylio and your Camera
Roll communicate:

  • When importing your photos, Mylio references the original images. It does not duplicate the image.
  • When importing, Mylio will make a Mylio-specific Thumbnail or Preview, depending on your setup.
  • If a photo is deleted from the Camera Roll before Mylio is opened, the photo will not be imported.
  • If a photo taken with your iOS device is deleted from Mylio, it will not delete from the Camera Roll but will be deleted from within Mylio on all other devices.
  • If a photo is deleted from the Camera Roll after being imported but before the Original has synced to another device, only the Mylio-specific Thumbnail or Preview will remain as Mylio is simply referencing on the original file.
  • If a photo is deleted from the Camera Roll after being imported and after syncing the original to another device, only the Mylio-specific Thumbnail or Preview will remain on the iOS device, but the Original will remain in the synced location.

 

 

   Tags

cloudgetting startedimportsetting up