Importing from the Photos app on iPhone and iPad

When first logging in to Mylio on your iOS device (iPhone,iPad, or iPod Touch), you will be asked if you would like to import your device’s photos. This includes any photos that you have taken with your iOS device, or any photo manually loaded to your iOS device using iTunes on a computer.

  Warning:  Mylio is not currently compatible with iCloud Photo Library if your library is being optimized by iCloud. To learn more click here.

Importing Photos on iPhone and iPod touch

If during setup you asked Mylio to not import your Camera Roll, you can add it at any time with these steps:

  1. Open Mylio on your iOS device
  2. Select the View menu (three vertical dots in the top right)
  3. Select Settings
  4. Tap Import
  5. Tap Add Apple Photos
  6. Mylio will automatically create a folder for your iOS device next to the “Mylio Pictures” folder called “Apple Photos”. Inside, another folder named “Your_Device’s_Name’s iOS Library” will be the import location for images from that device. If you have other iOS devices importing their photos to Mylio they will have their own folders inside “Apple Photos” with their imports.

Importing Photos on iPad

If during setup you asked Mylio to not import your photos, you can add it at any time with these steps:

  1. Open Mylio on your iOS device
  2. Select the Import button in the top right (the curved down arrow in between the Notifications and Activity Center icon and the Dashboard)
  3. Tap Add Apple Photos
  4. Mylio will automatically create a folder for your device next to the “Mylio Pictures” folder called “Apple Photos”. Inside, another folder named “Your_Device’s_Name’s iOS Library” will be the import location for images from that device. If you have other iOS devices importing their photos to Mylio they will have their own folders inside “Apple Photos” with their imports.

Mylio’s Relationship with Apple Photos

Mylio has a unique relationship with your device’s Camera Roll in order to ensure your photos are safe inside and outside of your Mylio Library. In general, Mylio has read-only access to your Camera Roll. Here are the guidelines for how Mylio and your Camera
Roll communicate:

  • When importing your photos, Mylio references the original images. It does not duplicate the image.
  • When importing, Mylio will make a Mylio-specific Thumbnail or Preview, depending on your setup.
  • If a photo is deleted from the Apple Photos before Mylio is opened, the photo will not be imported.
  • If a photo taken with your iOS device is deleted from Mylio, it will not delete from the Photos app but will be deleted from within Mylio on all other devices.
  • If a photo is deleted from the Apple Photos after being imported but before the Original has synced to another device, only the Mylio-specific Thumbnail or Preview will remain as Mylio is simply referencing on the original file.
  • If a photo is deleted from the Photos app after being imported to Mylio and after syncing the original to another device, only the Mylio-specific Thumbnail or Preview will remain on the iOS device, but the Original will remain in the synced location.

 

Stopping Import from Apple Photos (on mobile)

If you have previously imported photos from your Apple device would like to prohibit Mylio from importing photos in the future, follow these steps:

  1. Outside of Mylio, navigate to Settings > Privacy > Photos.
  2. Locate Mylio in the list of applications that have access to your photos.
  3. Turn off Mylio’s photo access.
  4. Go back into Mylio and select the folder named after your device inside the top-level “Apple Photos” folder.
  5. Delete the folder named after your device to stop Mylio from importing. If you would like the photos in this folder preserved in your Mylio library you can move them to another folder in the app using the Mylio Clipboard first.

   Tags

getting startedimportorganizing