If you wish to add a previously used Mylio Device as a new Mylio Device, you may need to remove the previous instance of the device in Mylio to be able to do this. There are multiple steps to re-provisioning a hard drive:
Remove the Drive as a Mylio Device
If you are being asked to re-provision your drive, this means this external device has already been set up as a Mylio Device before. The drive will be listed as a Mylio Device and must be removed from your account in order to be added again. By removing the device from your account you are not deleting data on the drive, but simply telling Mylio not to look for this drive, connect to this drive, or protect any data to this drive. It is important to note that this action is not reversible, and all original media must be resynced to the drive as a new Mylio Device.
- Open Mylio and navigate to the Dashboard.
- Locate the external hard drive (this drive may have a custom name) and select it.
- Within the Device Settings menu, unregister this device.
Removing the Mylio Sync Folder
When initially setting up your drive as a Mylio Device, Mylio will create a folder at the root level of the drive called “Mylio_XXXXX” where “XXXXX” is a unique identifier. This folder is where your entire library and catalog is protected to, so it may contain all of your original images. If you choose to set up this drive as a Mylio Device again, Mylio will create a new Mylio_XXXXX folder to load original data into. This means that if the original Mylio_XXXXX folder is not deleted, you may end up with two copies of your Mylio Library on this drive.
In most cases, it is recommended to delete the Mylio_XXXXX folder when you remove the drive as a Mylio Device. However, it is important to note that this folder holds original copies of your images and should only be deleted if there is another copy of your original images in Mylio.
- Open Finder or File Explorer and locate the external drive you wish to add as a Mylio Device.
- Locate the Mylio_XXXXX folder, where XXXXX is your unique identifier.
- Delete this folder.
Add the Drive as a Mylio Device
Once you have removed the device and the data from the external drive, you can add the device as a device that holds all Originals again and allow Mylio to protect your images to this device.