All Collections
Other Topics
Reset Mylio Photos on a Device
Reset Mylio Photos on a Device
Updated over a week ago

There are some situations where you may want to reset the Mylio Photos application on one of your devices, including:

  • Re-configuring how the device is set up

    • If you're getting started with Mylio Photos and want to change fundamental pieces of your configuration, including where the Mylio System Folder is stored, which folders are linked, and where the Linked Folders reside, resetting is often the most straightforward solution.

  • Adding the device to a different Mylio Photos account

    • Mylio Photos is designed to be signed into one account only once per device. Once a device has been logged into an account, that account remains locked to that device. To add the device to a different Mylio Photos account, the application must be reset.

  • Troubleshooting an issue

    • If you have a fully synced Mylio Photos vault, resetting the Mylio Photos application on a specific device that is not functioning as expected can be a good troubleshooting step.

NOTE: Factory Resetting Mylio Photos on a device completely resets your Mylio Photos Library on that device. When you sign in to the Mylio Photos application again, you are adding a new device to your Mylio Photos account. Your Mylio Photos Library will automatically re-sync from any active devices that remain on your account if you are a Mylio Photos+ subscriber and those devices meet the criteria to sync.

To start over on all devices with an empty Mylio Photos Library, please follow the steps in the manual linked here.

Reset Mylio Photos on a Computer

Please ensure your photos have finished syncing to a Mylio Photos Vault, or that you otherwise have a full backup of all your photos, before resetting Mylio Photos on a computer.

  1. Open Mylio Photos on any device, open the Mylio Photos Dashboard, and select Devices

  2. Select the computer you want to reset and choose Unregister Device

  3. Quit Mylio Photos on the computer you unregistered if it's currently open, then hold the Alt (on Windows) or Option (on macOS) key when re-launching the application to display the Support Options Window

  4. Choose Factory Reset Mylio Photos and follow the prompts

Mylio Photos has been reset on your computer. You'll be shown the sign-in screen, where you can sign in using your Mylio Photos account credentials. Because you're adding a new device, your Mylio Photos Library will be empty when you first sign in. When the sync criteria are met, your library will re-sync from one of your remaining active devices.

A new Mylio System Folder is created on your computer in the default location (the User folder) and the old one is automatically renamed "Mylio.old". The Mylio.old folder can be moved, renamed, or deleted. If you wish to move your new Mylio System Folder from the default location, it's best to do so now, before your library re-syncs.

Reset Mylio Photos on a Mobile Device

Please ensure your photos have finished syncing to a Mylio Photos Vault, or that you otherwise have a full backup of all your photos, before resetting Mylio Photos on your mobile device.

  1. Open Mylio Photos on any device, open the Mylio Photos Dashboard, and select Devices

  2. Select the mobile device you want to reset and choose Unregister Device

  3. Delete the Mylio Photos app from the mobile device you unregistered

  4. Re-install Mylio Photos from the Google Play Store or Apple App Store

Mylio Photos has been reset on your mobile device. When you open the app, you'll be shown the sign-in screen, where you can sign in using your Mylio Photos account credentials. Because you're adding a new device, your Mylio Photos Library will be empty when you first sign in. When the sync criteria are met, your library will re-sync from one of your remaining active devices.

Reset Mylio Photos on All Devices

To reset and start over on all devices, please follow the steps in the manual linked here.

Did this answer your question?